About Goyder

The electorate of Goyder is named after George Woodroofe Goyder (1826-1898).

George Woodroofe Goyder became South Australia’s first Surveyor General in 1861. He was nicknamed ‘Little Energy’ by the Australian Dictionary of Biography and was reputed to be the ablest administrator and most efficient public servant in the colony.

In 1865 he established the line of demarcation between safe and marginal agricultural areas. This line became known as Goyder’s Line and part of that line passes through the electorate of Goyder today.

There are electorate boundary changes planned to take effect for the March 2018 State election, including changes for Goyder - which is to be renamed NARUNGGA after the name of the Indigenous people who occupied the Yorke Peninsula region prior to European settlement.

The boundary redistribution will result in the addition of the townships of Port Broughton, Bute, Snowtown and Lochiel (currently in Frome electorate) into Narungga, and the removal of the townships of Two Wells and Hamley Bridge (to move into Taylor/Light).